## **Curriculum Vitae**

#### Keiji Maruoka

Date of Birth: April 17, 1953

Website (Lab): http://kuchem.kyoto-u.ac.jp/yugo/english/index.html

# **Education:**

| B. S. (1976)  | Department of Industrial Chemistry, Kyoto University |
|---------------|------------------------------------------------------|
| Ph. D. (1980) | Department of Chemistry, University of Hawaii        |
|               | (Professor Hisashi Yamamoto, Thesis Director)        |

#### **Academic Career:**

| 1980~1985    | Assistant Professor, Department of Applied Chemistry, Nagoya University        |
|--------------|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| 1985~1989    | Lecturer, Department of Applied Chemistry, Nagoya University                   |
| 1990~1995    | Associate Professor, Department of Applied Chemistry, Nagoya University        |
| 1995~2001    | Professor, Department of Chemistry, Grad. Sch. of Science, Hokkaido University |
| 1996~1997    | Chairman, Department of Chemistry, Grad. Sch. of Science, Hokkaido University  |
| 2000~present | Professor, Department of Chemistry, Grad. Sch. of Science, Kyoto University    |
| 2004~2005    | Chairman, Department of Chemistry, Grad. Sch. of Science, Kyoto University     |
| 2016~2018    | Chairman, Department of Chemistry, Grad. Sch. of Science, Kyoto University     |
| 2019~present | Specially-Appointed Professor, Grad. Sch. of Pharm. Sciences, Kyoto University |

## **Awards and Honors**

Japanese Chemical Society Award for Young Chemist (1985); Inoue Prize for Science (2000); Ichimura Prize for Science (2002); Synthetic Organic Chemistry Award of Japan (2003); Nagoya Silver Medal (2004); The Royal Society of Chemistry Fellow (2005); Green and Sustainable Chemistry Award (2006); Award of the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (2006); Novartis Lectureship Award (2007/2008); The Chemical Society of Japan Award (2007); Molecular Chirality Award (2007); Chunichi Cultural Prize (2010); Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awards (2011); Humboldt Senior Research Award (2011); Medal of Honor with Purple Ribbon (National Prize from The Japanese Emperor) (2011); Torey Science & Technology Award (2012); The Kyoto Shimbun Award for the Arts, Science and Culture (2012); The Honorary Fellow of the Chemical Research Society of India (2014); Takasago International Prize (Noyori Prize) (2016); Japan Academy Prize (2018).

**Journal Editor:** Chemistry Letters (2002~2004); Chemical Communications (2007~2013); Chemical Record (2011~2018; Chief Editor, 2018~); Tetrahedron Letters (2012~); Asian Journal of Organic Chemistry (Co-Chair, 2012~).

**Executive Board of Editor:** Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (2012~); Tetrahedron (2012~); Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry (2012~); Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters (2012~).

**Editorial Advisory Board:** Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry (2002~); Chemistry: An Asian Journal (2006~); The Open Organic Chemistry Journal (2007~); Accounts of Chemical Research (2009~); Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis (2011~); Chemical Communications (2006~2007 and 2014~).

## **International Award Committees:**

ChemComm Emerging Investigator Lectureship Award Committee (2011~2012); Tetrahedron Prize Committee (2012~present); Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award Committee (2012~present); Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award Committee (2013~present).

## Publications, Patents, and Lectures:

553 publications including peer-review papers, review articles and Books
[>87 J. Am. Chem. Soc. and >50 Angew. Chem. papers] (20,391 citations, h-index 73)
282 plenary/invited lectures since 2000; 38 patent applications

